Courgettes

One thing MS and being a mum have in common is that there is no control of either of them. I suppose that’s the biggest challenge especially as I’m such a planner. Whatever I do in my life, for instance, like looking at a holiday, I spend so much time reading about, it’s flipping exhausting. Even when I fell pregnant, I spent so much time reading about pregnancy and then how to be a good mum, whatever that is! My time now is consumed by parenting and MS reading. I had some school friends over at the weekend. I told them for the last two years, all I’ve read is about those two topics. They reminded me that I have to be me, to not stop reading about those things but also to read or do something which is different. I’m seeing the film, Bridget Jones this week!

But it’s hard because you are a mum who has MS and that defines you. I saw my nurse today, I even said to her that if somebody said “to eat a courgette every day, it would make you feel better, I would!” I don’t even like courgettes! I started this blog because I wanted to connect with other people in the same boat. I wrote to the MS society and asked if there are any websites that offered flexible career opportunities around the fact that I am mum, I have MS and I want to write. I got a reply back which gave me the hope and the kick up the bum I needed! “You should start a blog, you never know you might connect with people who are also experiencing the same thing as you”. So here it is, forgive me if I trip up along the way as it’s a huge learning curve, as I want to get it right for me, as well as right for you reading it. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy writing it. This Sunday will be my diagnosis anniversary. Sometimes I wish I never even heard the initials, MS as it consumes my life. From the moment I wake up to the moment to the time I fall sleep. But since having little man who is a toddler now, it’s not just me to think about. I wonder how my condition is going to affect him, our family, let alone just me. We’ll see but for now I’m doing the best I can.

One thought on “Courgettes

Leave a Reply

